

GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA ADVISORY NEIGHBORHOOD COMMISSION 1B

2000 14 STREET, NW
SUITE 100B
WASHINGTON, DC 20009
(202) 481-3462
1b@anc.dc.gov
@ANC1B
facebook.com/ANC1B

July 13, 2020

Re:

Office of Zoning 441 4th Street NW Suite 200S Washington, DC 20001 --- via email ---

COMMISSIONERS

ANITA NORMAN 1b01@anc.dc.gov

DANIEL ORLASKEY 1b02@anc.dc.gov

SEDRICK MUHAMMAD

DEBORAH R. THOMAS

1b04@anc.dc.gov

1b03@anc.dc.gov

VACANT 1b05@anc.dc.gov

JENNIFER BRISTOL

TREASURER

1b06@anc.dc.gov

VACANT 1b07@anc.dc.gov

JOSHUA R. MATER
VICE CHAIR

1b08@anc.dc.gov

James A. Turner Chair

DANNY DELANEY SECRETARY 1b10@anc.dc.gov

1b09@anc.dc.gov

ROBB HUDSON 1b11@anc.dc.gov

DAN WINSTON 1b12@anc.dc Members of the Zoning Commission:

for Parties' Responses to Court of Appeals' Remand

As a party to the above-referenced case, ANC 1B appreciates the opportunity to provide comments on the District of Columbia Court of Appeals (the "Court") remand of Order No. 16-11 to the Zoning Commission to assist the Commission in responding to the Court's opinion.

ZC 16-11: ANC1A Response to Procedural Order Reflecting the Zoning Commission's Oral Request

ANC 1B defers and concurs with the response submitted by ANC 1A, Commission of direct jurisdiction, on comments specific to public submissions and testimony by both ANCs during the zoning process. ANC 1B is directly abutting the Bruce Monroe property and the proposed development. ANC 1B submitted the attached *Resolution Supporting the PUD And Rezoning for Private Property – Bruce Monroe Redevelopment (Sq. 2890, Lot 849) In Ward One* introduced for case ZC 16-11 on October 6, 2016.

ANC 1B is committed to providing housing opportunities to rent and buy at all income levels and end programs that have demonstrated low-income warehousing in poorly maintained properties. We believe healthier communities and vibrant neighborhoods will develop with integrated low, moderate, and market income groups and with appropriate rental and ownership programs and opportunities.

The Chair or any Commissioner, as the Chair's delegate, is authorized to represent ANC 1B before any DC agency or the Council.

#####

Certification:

On July 9, 2020, at a publicly noticed meeting with a quorum of 11 Commissioners present. Advisory Neighborhood Commission 1B voted to approve the transmittal to the Zoning Commission.

James A. Turner, Chair ANC 1B Commissioner SMD 1B09 Danny Delaney, Secretary ANC 1B Commissioner SMD 1B10

Robb Hudson, Chair Econ Dev Comm Commissioner SMD 1B11

c: Honorable Phil Mendelson, Chair, DC Council Honorable Muriel Bowser, Mayor, District of Columbia

Honorable Brianne Nadeau, Councilmember, Ward 1

Honorable Kent Boese, Chair, ANC 1A Mr. Sarosh Olpadwala, Director, DMPED